Weekly maps for Sanctuary and Frontier

Discussion in 'Minecraft (Public)' started by Sorontar, Jan 1, 2012.

  1. Sorontar

    Sorontar Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    10,598
    Likes Received:
    524
    Location:
    Melbourne (+10 GMT)
    Starting last night, both Sanctuary and Frontier have scripts set up to render weekly maps each Saturday night. See TOG Minecraft Server Maps for links to all our maps. Thanks to Exe and Solutions First. for their continual hosting of our servers and the maps!

    Sorontar
     
  2. AdmiralTriggerH

    AdmiralTriggerH Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Lake Macquarie
    It looks like tectonics still doesn't render a lot of the new blocks
     
  3. Brew

    Brew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Brush Prairie, WA
    Last night's Frontier map seems to have failed....
     
  4. Sp!at

    Sp!at Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast, Queensland
    I noticed this as well.
     
  5. MadMax

    MadMax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    72
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    It would be nice to see an archive of all the images, day and night, to make a video from. I was going to, but my bought fraps refuses to take a screenshot.
     
  6. Sorontar

    Sorontar Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    10,598
    Likes Received:
    524
    Location:
    Melbourne (+10 GMT)
    The script we have for updating the maps froze after updating Sanctuary. I am getting Frontier's updating started but it will take at least 30 minutes, I estimate.

    As for archiving, I suggest you use a screenshot tool, then worry about making it into a video.

    Sorontar
     
  7. Coralon

    Coralon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Ipswich
    I didnt realise the worlds were so big, cheers for getting the update done Sorontar :)
     
  8. MadMax

    MadMax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    72
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I meant fraps as a screenshot tool actually...it has both video and screenshot recording components.
     
  9. SnakeTails

    SnakeTails Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,957
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Boronia
    You should have seen the previous world :eek:
     
  10. Sorontar

    Sorontar Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    10,598
    Likes Received:
    524
    Location:
    Melbourne (+10 GMT)
    He still can. See the map for the Creative world at TOG Minecraft Server Maps - border 17000x17000.

    Sorontar
     
  11. Sp!at

    Sp!at Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast, Queensland
    MadMax, are you trying to use Fraps to take a screenshot of the map? If so the chances are it won't work. I think Fraps only likes to work inside applications rather than browsers. And even some applications don't work well with Fraps. I've recently been using an awesome program called Bandicam which tends to work where Fraps doesn't. Also, it will compress the raw video. Been really impressed with this program and haven't bothered with Fraps since finding it.
     
  12. MadMax

    MadMax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    72
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia

    Yes mate I was trying, unsuccesfully to use fraps to take a screenshot. I downloaded and tried Bandicam, very nice indeed, works well. Cheers, much nicer than fraps I agree.

    EDIT: Note to anyone who tries it, the video recording if you use the free version is limited to 10 minutes and watermarked with the URL. Costs $39.

    http://www.bandicam.com/
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2012
  13. Sorontar

    Sorontar Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    10,598
    Likes Received:
    524
    Location:
    Melbourne (+10 GMT)
    I have updated Tectonicus and the version of minecraft.jar it accesses for the texture pack (as well as resetting the rendering to use the default texture pack). We will see in the morning whether it has given us a better map.

    Sorontar
     
    Misnik likes this.
  14. Misnik

    Misnik Retired Architect

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    Looks good to me :)

    Admiral's building really shows up now that on the landscape, as well as my floors no longer mysteriously floating in some sections.

    Thanks

    edit the colors are more vibrant as well:

    Last week:
    [​IMG]

    This week:
    [​IMG]

    edit 2: Also noticed they flipped the compass as well. So the Sun is East to west now.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2012
  15. Akira Doe

    Akira Doe Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Finally found this thread again! Yay :)

    Look Ma, I can see the farm from up here!
     
  16. Sorontar

    Sorontar Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    10,598
    Likes Received:
    524
    Location:
    Melbourne (+10 GMT)
  17. Stuman

    Stuman Guest

    Didn't run last night?
     
  18. Sorontar

    Sorontar Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    10,598
    Likes Received:
    524
    Location:
    Melbourne (+10 GMT)
    It is weekly, not nightly. They render in sequence at 3am Sunday morning, Sydney time, though I have had to start the second map rendering manually lately. The dates on the index page were incorrect. I have updated them.

    Sorontar
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2012
  19. Akira Doe

    Akira Doe Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Nooo! I built my house on the wrong side of the mountain and it's hidden on the map lol!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Sorontar

    Sorontar Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    10,598
    Likes Received:
    524
    Location:
    Melbourne (+10 GMT)
    Easy solution, destroy the mountain.
     

Share This Page