some questions about destiny

Discussion in 'Destiny (Public)' started by mesterjester, Sep 29, 2014.

1. mesterjester

mesterjester Getting Started

so i just started playing on the ps3 a few days ago and had a few questions about the game.

during a story mission, i was exploring _not_ in the direction of my waypoint and i got a "turn back" message with a countdown. i turned around before it hit zero but was confused by that. i know there's occasional treasure chests and dead ghosts and collectibles like that, but i guess i shouldn't worry about those during story missions? should i just bee-line it to my waypoints during story missions and not worry about missing collectibles?

and does every story mission have a treasure chest to be found? i've really tried to be careful about checking everywhere but, at least in old russia still, i've not found a treasure chest in each mission. or are treasure chests generally not worth the time i'm spending on trying to find them?

as far as gear goes, i bought a new warlock class item engram from the cyptarch and it decoded into a new item, but when i compared it to the original one i started the game with, i saw neither one had any stats at all on it. why would i ever want to buy a new one of these? or is this the slot where you put the different faction rep grind items? do these items ever have stats?

in the grimiore, i have a few gold cards unlocked, like the "gjallarhorn" rocket launcher. does that mean i have this item somehow? or have seen it in game? it seems odd i would have cards for things i haven't acquired yet.

and finally, without really trying to, i'm lvl 9 but my next story mission is the first moon mission, which is lvl 6 i think? is there any downside to being over-leveled for the story missions? or does that just give me an easier time and quicker kills?

2. DataShade

DataShade Getting Started

Yes.*

No.