[DONE] Hi!

Discussion in 'The Barracks' started by ImTheDuke, Mar 19, 2021.

1. ImTheDuke

ImTheDuke Getting Started

Very older gamer here guys just joined. Stopped playing maybe 10 years ago for no particular reason. Just life stuff I guess took me a different direction. Recently got the itch to build a gaming PC (not sure where it came from) but quickly ran into the no inventory wall. I ended up buying a pre-built, which I have never done before but Alienware was one of the few that had RTX 3080's available. I ordered online on a Friday night a month and a half ago after a few beers lol. Anyway, this was supposed to be a simple PC purchase morphed into an office remodel. So it went like this.

1. Purchase PC
    2. Realized my old monitor was not going to keep up with the new GPU, I bought a Dell 32" Curved 144hz
    3. Now, with one 32" monitor and another 34" monitor my desk was going to be too cramped. This resulted in a trip to IKEA to get a larger, open desk with lots of room and some cable management built-in.
    4. I assume most here are married so they may be able to relate to the next phase of this thing. Once the purchasing ceases to be electronic and becomes interior decorating the wife suddenly becomes interested. She wanted to be involved with subsequent purchases of a TV mount desk and another desk for my output machine (film for screen printing) which is pretty heavy. A separate pc and monitor are dedicated to this printer.
    5. The TV used to be on the wall but I really didn't want it up there anymore. This was going to leave TV mount bracket damage on the wall. So now I had to get my office painted. We got my wife's office painted as well. To be fair, both rooms were overdue.