Geforce FX doesn't cut it!

Discussion in 'The Barracks' started by Father, Feb 10, 2003.

  1. Father

    Father The Boss Staff Member Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    9,753
    Likes Received:
    434
  2. GhostDog

    GhostDog Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    6,522
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Oh my goodness, look at the cooling system on that card! Lol! What a beast! Graphics cards are going to end up bigger than the Mobos at this rate :D

    Shame about it's performance though, I was hoping for better results than that. I'll be starting my 'one every two years new PC build' in a couple of months time - looks like the ATI Radeon may be my best bet.
     
  3. Father

    Father The Boss Staff Member Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    9,753
    Likes Received:
    434
    DL the little file once that actually has the sound on it that the card produces, ridiculous.

    Obviously if you would buy a new GFX card today, you would indeed still buy the radeon over the FX.

    I also expected A LOT more! Coz I was contemplating buying a new gfx card, still stuck with a GF3 here.
     
  4. GhostDog

    GhostDog Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    6,522
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I got a Triplex GeForce4 Ti4600 (the beautiful silver card) a couple of months before the new ATI cards came out.

    It's been great.
     
  5. Voyager

    Voyager Getting Started

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an 9700 pro.

    Just wanted to tell you :wink:

    It rocks my socks.
     
  6. Derelict

    Derelict Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    7,815
    Likes Received:
    167
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    By all reports, the GeForce FX is disappointing in it's performance.

    If anything, the jump in graphical grunt the FX has over the 4 is nothing compared to what the 4 had over the 3 over the 2 over the 1 over the TNT, etc.....

    It's not better than the 9700Pro, which is what it needed to be.

    Cooler is effing huge! :lol:

    Who ever heard of having a second card dedicated to be thte cooler????

    Still, ATI's driver support is still shithouse compared to nVidia's.

    I'll stick with my X-Micro Gf4 4200 for now. I'll wait for the next leap in graphics card technology before updating again.
     
  7. Father

    Father The Boss Staff Member Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    9,753
    Likes Received:
    434
    Dunno about the ATI drivers today though, I used to read horror stories about their early releases but the latest ones seem to work fine.

    As a matter of fact there has not been a single piece of hardware in my systems that I had to stuff around with drivers more then my Nvidia card.

    The only GFX card I ever had that I would call stable drivers wise was the 3DFX.

    And if you read the verdict on the Geforce FX drivers, not very good!
     
  8. Father

    Father The Boss Staff Member Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    9,753
    Likes Received:
    434
  9. Arienne

    Arienne The Woman in Red Staff Member Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    14,383
    Likes Received:
    436
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    Hey Voyager:

    Big deal, I have a GF2MX400!

    Oh yeah... doh. :oops:

    ;)
     
  10. Warbear.Prime

    Warbear.Prime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,539
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    I have a GF4 Ti 4600 ASUS Deluxe.

    I can't afford another upgrade.
     
  11. Solis

    Solis Getting Started

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Wavell Heights, Brisbane, Queensland, OZ
    Your still paying that one off.LOL
     
  12. Pseudonym

    Pseudonym Getting Started

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Wheelers Hill, Victoria, Australia
    GF2 MX400 :cry:
     
  13. WiB

    WiB Getting Started

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think the 9700pro is looking pretty good. The price is rapidly dropping, and it should last another year or two (bring on Deus Ex 2!!) Nvidia must be feeling the pinch now.

    I've got a GF3ti200 BTW. Not to bad, but Wokkas GF4ti4200 makes me envious :)
     
  14. Father

    Father The Boss Staff Member Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    9,753
    Likes Received:
    434
    I always tend to skip a generation, had the GF1, now the 3, so the FX would have been my next purchase.

    But the Radeon is the only logical choice, you would have to be really biased towards Nvidia to buy the FX.

    Now I'm thinking, maybe I should wait till ATI releases their followup to the 9700, but I suppose they can buy their time.
     
  15. GrimReaper

    GrimReaper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Sunny Brisbane :)
    I have a GF4 4200ti which I am very happy with, however I have to upgrade Mrs Reaper's PC in the next few months (during which time the 4200ti will magically make its way into her PC and I will end up with the new card!). Any idea when the successor to the 9700 will be released?
     
  16. SnakeTails

    SnakeTails Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,957
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Boronia
    You think the heatsinks are big in that card, I have seen bigger....

    Also the HS on a processor is nothing like that on a HP RISC C-180 system, and I'm talking about the huge 'sinks that people put on the processor, and forget that very much of the heat goes down the component legs to the chip carrier, and to the PCB.... where the sensors are sitting *under* the CPU, closer to the core than the HS on the top of the CPU... by a few mm's....
     

Share This Page