Civ 5 requires Steam

Discussion in 'RPG, Simulation, Strategy and Others' started by brohawk, Sep 23, 2010.

1. brohawk

brohawk Retired Captains

:mad: I am not happy at all. My friend got his copy yesterday and the game requires Steam. The last time I had Steam I had to rebuild my PC. I will not be playing this game until they remove that requirement. I hate companies that do this.

2. Beavis

Beavis Well Torn Member and Previously Retired Captain

When was the last time you used steam?.I think you will find that Steam is now really great,especially for saving your games without the need for physical media.

I have been using it for the past 6 years or so and I think you will find it has been refined quite a bit and a lot of TOG (and other players) use it.

You have to remember Steam is not releasing the game ,just the digital download of said game.

3. King_Rocket

King_Rocket Well-Known Member

Yeah Bro, its time to man up and give Steam Another go. :)
    If the retailer didn't make it clear that Steam was required he might be eligible for a refund.

Last edited: Sep 23, 2010
  4. brohawk

brohawk Retired Captains

the last steam game I had was Dawn of War II and it killed my system. That was the third time I have given Steam a chance. I am no longer interested in supporting crap software. There is no reason to have Steam, especially on a RTS game.

5. Jakob_Pavlov

Jakob_Pavlov Retired Captain

Sorry that you have not had good experiences Bro, but I have to say that Steam is one of the most valued pieces of software on my PC. I have even paid more (and likely will do again) for Steam versions of games so as to have the full intergration.

6. Bawheidbob

Bawheidbob Well-Known Member

Got to say it is a pretty poor 'requirement' what are the reasons behind it?

I have Steam myself but having things like forced on me would annoy me also.

7. Venrith

Venrith Active Member