Brand New Steam UI (Beta: Opt-in)

Discussion in 'Digital Distribution & Mobile Game Applications' started by Drac, Feb 24, 2010.

  1. PhatFreD

    PhatFreD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,679
    Likes Received:
    168
    Location:
    Capricorn, QLD
    I thought purchases have to be made from a web browser, not through the steam store in steam. I tried once and it didn't work.
     
  2. Drac

    Drac Squad Officer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,912
    Likes Received:
    639
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    The steam store in steam is a web browser.
     
  3. MadMax

    MadMax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Is it safe to play with this new toy yet?
     
  4. PhatFreD

    PhatFreD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,679
    Likes Received:
    168
    Location:
    Capricorn, QLD
    Yes, but it doesn't allow pop-up windows or multi-tab browsing, which is necessary when making a steam purchase and paying with paypal. That might be why I couldn't do it. Maybe you can purchase through the steam store in steam when paying with credit card.
     
  5. .DiscO !

    .DiscO ! Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    LOL, that's a classic Fred. Better send a group email "Out of the office.. Gaming" :)
     
  6. Reoh

    Reoh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    16,737
    Likes Received:
    861
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Yeah I purchase direct through the steam store window, but I don't pay via paypal.
     
  7. flexx

    flexx Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Sunny Camperdown in Vic
    I tried it didn't like went back now I cant bloody well log into steam at all. Oh and don't get me started on how quick support isn't. Even if ur only locked out for a day, it's to long especially when there are 100 of dollars worth of games u cant access even offline.
     
  8. Drac

    Drac Squad Officer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,912
    Likes Received:
    639
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    So you got locked out for putting in the wrong password?

    Good to know that feature exists, don't want accounts being broken into with brute force cracks. :)
     
  9. flexx

    flexx Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Sunny Camperdown in Vic
    thats just it i never put in the wrong password. I was working I did a restart and then it would no longer accept my password.
     
  10. Wiz_74

    Wiz_74 Retired Journalist & Advisor

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,345
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    BrisVegas
    I had password issues this morning trying to log into the steampowered website, seems to be all good now though so give it another try.
     
  11. PhatFreD

    PhatFreD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,679
    Likes Received:
    168
    Location:
    Capricorn, QLD
    I have started having a few issues with the beta. Sometimes after resuming from hybernation mode it is unresponsive so I have to Ctrl alt delete, shut down steam. Then sometimes when starting a game I havent played for a while it takes minutes to start up.

    And downloading various games/updates locks it up sometimes.

    Anyone else having issues?
     
  12. Drac

    Drac Squad Officer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,912
    Likes Received:
    639
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Post on the steam forums, there's a big round link button on the steam UI itself that takes you to the forums to report bugs/issues
     

Share This Page