Brand New Steam UI (Beta: Opt-in)

Discussion in 'Digital Distribution & Mobile Game Applications' started by Drac, Feb 24, 2010.

  1. Drac

    Drac Squad Officer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,912
    Likes Received:
    639
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Details here:

    A Brand New Steam

    All I an say is, about bloody time!

    Note: (From Jig)
    Take care! Some games are seeing chunks of content being deleted when going to the new UI. I lost about 2GB from Company of Heroes (the Tales of Valor content it seemed) and the MP content for CoD:MW2 (approx 7GB) seem to be the big two ...
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2010
  2. Mighty Brush

    Mighty Brush Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,564
    Likes Received:
    108
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Damn there are some neat features in there!

    I'm going to be installing this as soon as I'm home.
     
  3. King_Rocket

    King_Rocket Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    4,155
    Likes Received:
    301
    Location:
    Yarrawonga, VIC
    Looks good.
     
  4. Vulcan21

    Vulcan21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    6,502
    Likes Received:
    480
    Location:
    Devonport, Tasmania
    I really like the look of this. The older version was less than user friendly.
     
  5. Jigoku

    Jigoku Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4,161
    Likes Received:
    253
    Location:
    Qld, Australia
    Take care! Some games are seeing chunks of content being deleted when going to the new UI. I lost about 2GB from Company of Heroes (the Tales of Valor content it seemed) and the MP content for CoD:MW2 (approx 7GB) seem to be the big two ...
     
  6. Spice.

    Spice. Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    Clunes, NSW
    Nice to see it's finally getting a facelift. But that is worrying Jigoku, I guess the safest way is to backup the steamapps folder before trying it.
     
  7. Drac

    Drac Squad Officer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,912
    Likes Received:
    639
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I've also lost all of Killing floor, MW2 MP, and a few other things.
     
  8. Vulcan21

    Vulcan21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    6,502
    Likes Received:
    480
    Location:
    Devonport, Tasmania
    Oh Shit !

    Maybe it's better to wait a couple of days before trying the new UI perhaps ?

    I'll backup the apps folder beforehand, just in case.
     
  9. Bikkies

    Bikkies Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,330
    Likes Received:
    141
    Reckon!

    I still want to try it out though looks good.
     
  10. Unknown

    Unknown Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,397
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    Sydney (NSW, AU)
    With Valve's QA history, I'd say that's a wise move... ;) :p
     
  11. Drac

    Drac Squad Officer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,912
    Likes Received:
    639
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Backup any steamworks games before you try it and it should be fine.
     
  12. Jigoku

    Jigoku Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4,161
    Likes Received:
    253
    Location:
    Qld, Australia
    Unless of course you have a nice high speed connection with unmetered Steam content ... =p
     
  13. Mighty Brush

    Mighty Brush Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,564
    Likes Received:
    108
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    I lost nothing in upgrading, but then I only rebuilt my PC on the weekend and decided only to bring across 3 games...

    I quite like the new UI, adds some nifty features and seems less clunky. The new overlay is pure awesome.
     
  14. Xerxer

    Xerxer Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mulvane, Kansas
    Wow, the game information pages with the overlays makes me want to buy more games just for those visuals. Steam is a tricksy bunch of hobbitses.
     
  15. Thermal Ions

    Thermal Ions Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,185
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Central Queensland
    Tried the beta, and ended up redownloading part of 3 games (L4D2, Overloard, Titan Quest I think) - probably about 600 Mb all up.

    Found the store a bit buggy, requiring unloading the beta (add -clearbeta to Steam command line) and then reinstalling the beta and restarting Steam a few times.

    The one thing I like the most is that finally my mouse scroll wheel reliably works. Haven't tried the overlay yet to see what has people raving about it though.
     
  16. Keddle

    Keddle Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    187
    I love the changes but I wish that you could change the font sizes, especially in chat windows. At the 1920x1080 resolution the font occasionally difficult to read, it would be nice if they just let people have some options to switch things up on their own. The videos on the store playing on their own needs to be fixed up too.

    All in all it is a nice change but it seems like they've adopted a lot of iTunes interface features.
     
  17. Reoh

    Reoh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    16,737
    Likes Received:
    861
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I've noticed a few bugs. Everytime I mouse over the scrollbar in the shop steam CTD's. Also, while people are in a game and chatting their name blanks out from the chat window. Furthermore I also lost shift-tab functionality until I restarted a game.

    Quite a few teething issues and I haven't really noticed anything "better." Heck, with all the crap on the shift-tab window now I'd actually say its worse because its covering up where I used to be able to see through the overlay and make sure nothing was going wrong in game.
     
  18. PhatFreD

    PhatFreD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,679
    Likes Received:
    168
    Location:
    Capricorn, QLD
    I'm not sure if this is a bug related to the beta, but it seems funny that Steam now knows what I will play tomorrow:
    [​IMG]
     
    Reoh and Wiz_74 like this.
  19. Wiz_74

    Wiz_74 Retired Journalist & Advisor

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,345
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    BrisVegas
    lol, so they forgot ESP in the patchnotes :)
     
  20. Reoh

    Reoh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    16,737
    Likes Received:
    861
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    New patch for the Beta UI has helped with a lot of the issues I was experiencing. Although a dear friend crashed when she tried to make a purchase. The purchase did go through though, as did the gift sent to me.

    @FreD, LMAO! Nice one mate. :)
     

Share This Page