[Borderlands] Useful tips and tricks...

Discussion in 'Shooter Games: The Range' started by Mighty Brush, Oct 27, 2009.

  1. theZee

    theZee Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    6,649
    Likes Received:
    427
    Location:
    Sydney/AUS
    I thought my keyboard was broken at first.:oops:
     
  2. Croziac

    Croziac Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,679
    Likes Received:
    72
    Location:
    Newcastle, NSW
    It seems a lot of people are having issues with connecting to other people and finding games etc.
    Open these ports & shouldn't have an issue.

    7777 (Not Sure)
    3783 (Voice Chat Port)
    27900 (Master Server UDP Heartbeat)
    28900 (Master Server List Request)
    29900 (GP Connection Manager)
    29901 (GP Search Manager)
    13139 (Custom UDP Pings)
    6515 (Dplay UDP)
    6500 (Query Port)
     
    theZee likes this.
  3. Mighty Brush

    Mighty Brush Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,564
    Likes Received:
    108
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Note that you seem to need to foward these ports regardless of if you're hosting or not.

    This is going to cause me major headaches as my gaming comp is actually behind two routers, one of which I can't remember the PW for so I'll have to factory reset it and reconfigure it again :(
     
  4. Reoh

    Reoh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    16,737
    Likes Received:
    861
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Great, now I just need to know how ;)

    * Can I presume all the ones not marked "UDP" are TCP?
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2009
  5. Mighty Brush

    Mighty Brush Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,564
    Likes Received:
    108
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
  6. Reoh

    Reoh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    16,737
    Likes Received:
    861
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Funnily enough I googled my way onto that and managed to set them up. I also added a few more I found in a sticky on their forum... which I meant to post here, whoops forgot that and rebooted my PC and lost the link!
     
  7. Benicio

    Benicio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,193
    Likes Received:
    122
    Location:
    Brisbane Qld
    Fantastic info here guys. First thing I'll do is go edit that ini file.
     
  8. Spectre8

    Spectre8 Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,166
    Likes Received:
    485
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    The same people who leave in the "Press Enter to start" in console ports...

    But yeah, those ini tweaks are priceless - never should have been that way to begin with, but hey, all fixed now :)

    Thanks to all :D
     
  9. Drac

    Drac Squad Officer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,912
    Likes Received:
    639
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    You shouldn't need to open ports to connect to a game, just to host a game.

    There is also a bug where the first time you try to host a game it doesn't work, but the second time you make a game/lobby and invite someone it does work.
     
  10. Reoh

    Reoh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    16,737
    Likes Received:
    861
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    FYI, the gearbox forums have hyperlinks to check your ports. They all showed closed on me all day long. Then I downloaded portforwards port checker and they worked fine (just make sure you custom install and remove the (ask) stuff).
     
  11. Unknown

    Unknown Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,396
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    Sydney (NSW, AU)
    Correct. As for all these ports people are opening, for "private" games I've just opened/forwarded one port on my router (7777/UDP) then ensure your Windows firewall will allow inbound connections (either to the Borderlands application or just to that port, take your pick - I've added the Borderlands application as an exception); after that, throwing out some invites worked fine to get four of us up and running (first go).
     
    beargirl likes this.
  12. Kriv

    Kriv Getting Started

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
  13. Justin Kace

    Justin Kace Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,114
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    New Plymouth, New Zealand
    Here's something I stumbled on today. Activating a new artifact doesn't scrap your current/historic ones.

    In the skill panel, click the artifact icon and you'll have a list of all your ex-artifacts to choose from! Change them on the fly for whatever damage is the latest fotm!

    Pity that doesn't work with girlfriends too... *drifts off into happy memories*
     
    beargirl likes this.
  14. theZee

    theZee Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    6,649
    Likes Received:
    427
    Location:
    Sydney/AUS
    On this, not sure if this might be a bug, but in order to equip a new artifact, you need to remove your current one then go into your inventory and click the new artifact.
     
  15. Justin Kace

    Justin Kace Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,114
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    New Plymouth, New Zealand
    Really? I've not paid it much attention but I'm pretty sure mine have all been activated just by clicking them in my inventory. I'll double check next time I get a new one.
     
  16. bork

    bork Getting Started

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Not sure if this has been posted elsewhere.. but here is a description and map of the new haven gun run (from the Penny Arcade forum). 6 chests all conveniently located in town, right near a new-u station so you can just exit and restart to spawn 6 new ones. It's arguably a bit cheesy, but hey.. guns!

     
    beargirl likes this.
  17. Mighty Brush

    Mighty Brush Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,564
    Likes Received:
    108
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
  18. Reoh

    Reoh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    16,737
    Likes Received:
    861
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Thats almost the exact route I worked out on my own when I thought about reloading it, except I also run past the vendors and check/sell. ;)
     
  19. fantomas

    fantomas Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    There is a hidden basement in New Haven. - Hidden Basement (May Contain Spoilers) - Gearbox Software Community

    One person in the thread has stated
    And another
    Anyone able to successfully get into this? I don't hae a char that far in, so can't comment on exactly how it's done.
     
    beargirl likes this.
  20. Spectre8

    Spectre8 Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,166
    Likes Received:
    485
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I'm still totally new to this - only at lvl 12, and have only just left the starter area - but my query is with claptrap. So far he just stands next to the bulletin board and dances - but I've found another one in the rocks above one of the buildings there - and I can't get to him. He's green, but no matter what I do (short of shooting him) I can't get there.

    Do I just wait for the story to unlock that part, or am I missing something?
     

Share This Page