Beginner's Guide to the TOG FTB/MindCrack Server (Mindcrack Server no longer used)

Discussion in 'Minecraft (Public)' started by Obsi, Jan 5, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hoathy

    Hoathy Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3,555
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    Perth
    Sweet. I do want dark iron. I might bug you next time we are both on
     
  2. Irimar

    Irimar Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Greenfield, MA USA
    Yeah, no problem. I'll be on sometime in the next hour or less, probably for a couple of hours.
     
  3. TAZZROK

    TAZZROK Getting Started

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    TAS, AUS
    jump in mumble when ya can WB some one will help ya sort it out
     
  4. Sorontar

    Sorontar Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    10,534
    Likes Received:
    520
    Location:
    Melbourne (+10 GMT)
    As a last resort. We are not planning to wipe the world again. Generally each of our worlds have lasted 1 or 1.5 years. They then get regenerated/replaced because of updates/congestion/wanting something new.

    As for caves... just you wait :)

    Sorontar
     
  5. white_bear_84

    white_bear_84 Retired Captain

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,033
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Sydney
    Im intruiged!! I started building some caves and tunnels in my first world - if i mine a large area im probably keen to fill it up with stairs and walkways and all sorts of passages and stuff

    I read in another post you can use water to fill mines or something along that line, but is it ok if your using the water as an aesthetic feature e.g. a couple of waterfalls?!?!

    Well in that case - a year is a long time.. ..might try claim my stake tonight if i get the last mod working correctly! :)
     
  6. Obsi

    Obsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4,048
    Likes Received:
    281
    Location:
    Melbourne
    What I'd suggest is that if you plan to build in the land outside the city - but want a backup house for storage or whatnot - grab one of the smaller size plots around the edge of the city. Build a basic house there then venture out.

    If you have no plans to ever want to be in the city - by all means just go out and start building where you like
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2013
  7. white_bear_84

    white_bear_84 Retired Captain

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,033
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yeah thats what i was thinking.. ..it would be nice to contribute to the city too!! :D
     
  8. Sorontar

    Sorontar Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    10,534
    Likes Received:
    520
    Location:
    Melbourne (+10 GMT)
    Flowing water is bad for the server due to the lag as it handles the water. For that reason, we have had to make rules about using water in quarry spaces and had to remove the old Myst world (melting glaciers).

    Players certainly can use flowing water fountains and waterfalls. We just ask that they consider its contribution to lag. Flooding an entire mine is not a good idea.

    Sorontar
     
  9. Hoathy

    Hoathy Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3,555
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    Perth
    Hehe I won't be. I'm using the forums from work (don't tell my boss!!)
     
  10. white_bear_84

    white_bear_84 Retired Captain

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,033
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Sydney
    Will definitely take this into consideration if i use water at all, does water sources/level water (not moving) affect lag at all?
     
  11. Sorontar

    Sorontar Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    10,534
    Likes Received:
    520
    Location:
    Melbourne (+10 GMT)
    Not that we know of. Its height doesn't need to be calculated, nor does it need to be animated at the client level. The problem is that sometimes the top of the water can be flat but under the top can be running. That is why mining out the ocean floor with machines is not a good idea.

    Sorontar
     
  12. Obsi

    Obsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4,048
    Likes Received:
    281
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Anything that can contribute to lag is preferred to be done out of the city - the problem is that the amount of space a player keeps loaded while being in an area is quite large, so that means that while players are in the city, most of the city is kept loaded at the same time. So that's a lot of "stuff" happening in a smallish space. Which all contributes to lag.

    Waterfalls and things on their own aren't so much of a problem individually - but it's while there are a lot of machines and animals and water and things all contributing to lag - it gets too much for the server to handle.

    The reason we've said no water in quarries is because people typically put water in the ground level of a quarry (so that if the quarry found lava it converts it to obsidian) because it's easier, meaning that it's then pouring down from ground level to bedrock. The more the water flows, the more lag increases. So that's why we've said no water in quarries.
     
  13. white_bear_84

    white_bear_84 Retired Captain

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,033
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ditto. I have spent the last hour designing the building i want to construct in the sanctuary city. Its going to be pretty epic i think.

    Sucks i wont be home for an 4 hours...
     
  14. Sorontar

    Sorontar Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    10,534
    Likes Received:
    520
    Location:
    Melbourne (+10 GMT)
    You mean the FTB Mindcrack city. Sanctuary is no more (until we make it available for download).

    We will probably get a map of the Mindcrack world up this Sunday. The city map has been updated daily so far.

    Sorontar
     
  15. white_bear_84

    white_bear_84 Retired Captain

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,033
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ok, now FTB is saying i need 1.4.6 but have 1.4.7 installed... :mad:

    Tried to get into mumble using the details provided but thats not working either.. ..its getting pretty frustrating :(

    Edit: Holy Barnacles batman!! Its working!! No idea how lol.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2013
  16. Cheith

    Cheith Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO, USA
    If you try and download an old version (eg 7) before downloading the recommended version (currently 8.0.1) it downloads the wrong version of minecraft!

    Also note that some of the primary download links are out (Mo creatures, custom mob spawner). The mirrors still work
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2013
  17. Irimar

    Irimar Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Greenfield, MA USA
    Looks like the server fell over. I can't get to it.
     
  18. DaedalusAlpha

    DaedalusAlpha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    6,356
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden (CET+2)
  19. Misnik

    Misnik Retired Architect

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    I'm glad, so far my work pc isn't agreeing with adfly to download the files for the new setup. So haven't been able to connect or try to connect from here yet.
     
  20. Irimar

    Irimar Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Greenfield, MA USA
    It shows up for me now. I got booted, and then it showed up unavailable, even after I had closed down the launcher completely and re-started.

    No one was on at the time but Cheith and I, so I'm going to go ahead and blame Cheith. :p
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page